Are You Seeing Spots?

“We live by faith and not by sight”(2 Cor. 5:7)

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things” (Phil 4:8)

The cordless phone rang. It was off the hook so by the time I located it, the ringing had stopped and the recorder picked up the caller’s voice.

The voice on the other end said, “Mary, call me. I need to talk with you.” It was the familiar voice of one of my close friends whom I love dearly. As usual, however, she was in distress and I really preferred not to return the call. I was having a pretty good day and wanted it to stay that way. I was beginning to see the light at the end of my own tunnel. But because I am not a fair-weather friend, I dialed her phone number.

As soon as I heard the tone of her voice, I wanted to hang up. But I knew she would see my name on the Caller I.D. so I took a deep breath and said, “Hey, girl, you sound down. What’s up?”

Before I could get the words out of my mouth good, she began to give me a litany of complaints. I listened sympathetically for a while and then I realized that this conversation could go on and on.

I had a choice. I could feed into it and play tit-for-tat with my own challenges or I could turn it around. I decided to turn it around with this illustration.

“Friend, I said to her, “I want you to close your eyes and see a plain white sheet of paper. There’s nothing on it with the exception of a black dot. Tell me what you see.”

“A black dot in the middle,” she replied.

“That’s the problem,” I said to my friend. “Your perception. You are looking at this sheet of paper the same way you are looking at your life. Instead of seeing all of the white space around the black dot, you are focusing on the black dot and becoming more and more discouraged. Change your focus. Rather than staring at the black dot look at the white space around it. Those are your blessings.”

When I heard her shouting, “Hallelujah. Thank you, Jesus!” I knew that I had made a breakthrough.

Are you seeing spots today? If so, it’s time to clear your focus.

Leave a Reply

