DADDY’S GIRL

“…Thou has been a helper of the orphan” (Psa. 10:14)…

”He supports the fatherless and the widow…” (Psa. 146:9).

When I was asked to write this column for Father’s Day, my first thought was, “What do I know about fathers? I never had one.” A natural one, that is. My natural father died while I was in my mother’s womb. In later years, my mother married my alcoholic stepfather, who later abandoned us – all five of us. Thus, I grew up without a natural father, and the feeling that “something’s missing.”

Before I married Rev. Eddie K. Edwards, a fine example of fatherhood, I married a man who was a good financial provider but a poor father image for my children. He loved them the best he could. But he knew nothing about fatherhood and how to develop young men. He had not been properly nurtured himself. Too often we see this scenario repeated over and over again.

It wasn’t until 1976, when I was 33 years old, that I came to personally know what a true Father was. That’s when I met my Heavenly Father. It wasn’t until then that I knew what it was to climb up into a Father’s lap, lay my head on his chest, and listen to His heartbeat. It wasn’t until then that I knew what it was like to have a man reassure me, relieve my fears, and tell me everything was going to be all right. It wasn’t until then

that I knew what it was like to have a man tell me how pretty I was, and say it with no strings attached. It wasn’t until then that I knew what it was like to feel safe and secure in the arms of a man, without fear of abandonment.

It wasn’t until then that I knew what it was to be loved by a man who didn’t have selfish and impure motives. It wasn’t until I gave my spirit, soul and body to the Lord Jesus Christ that I knew what it was to be called, “Daddy’s Girl.”

Leave a Reply

