GOD’S SET TIME

This past Saturday morning I had a 7:30 a.m. radio interview scheduled with Rev. Jim Holley of Historic Little Rock Baptist Church. He was kind enough to open the door for me to share with his audience my newly-released autobiography, Born Grown.

As I prepared for bed Friday night, I was overly concerned that I might oversleep. I haven’t used an alarm clock for over 40 years. In fact, the last time I used one, it was one of those that you have to wind up. Now that we are in the 2lst century, everything is push button. It should be easy. But it wasn’t.. .not for me!

When I picked up my alarm clock, I became unnerved. I didn’t know how to set the clock to go off early enough for me to keep my appointment with Rev. Holley. It was after 11:00 p.m. Who can I call this late at night to ask them to set their clock for me? Only one person came to my mind, my friend, Minister Dessie Morgan. Because Minister Morgan is an intercessor on the wall, she stays up late and rises up early. I felt free to give her a call.

“I don ‘t use an alarm clock either, “she informed me. But, I do know how to set one,” she continued. Boy, was I relieved. I was able to calm down and go to sleep, confident that I wouldn’t oversleep.

Right on time, Minister Morgan called me. I got to my appointment at the appointed time.

This near panic-attack caused me to meditate on what had happened here from a spiritual perspective. Here’s what I see:

We are told that God has a set time, an appointed time. What time is God’s time? So often we get all wound up when things don’t go our way. Or we push the panic button and off goes the alarm in our minds. We allow ourselves to start thinking about all of the “what ifs.” What if this happens? What if that happens? What if I don‘t wake up in time? What if I’m late for my appointment? Had I not allowed panic to set it, I’m sure God would have shown me how to set the time.

In Numbers 10, God tells us that there is a time to sound the alarm and a time not to sound the alarm. Before we get all wound up and hit the panic button, the question is:

“Lord, what is your set time?”

Leave a Reply

