He Who Winneth Souls Is Wise

“He Who Winneth Souls Is Wise” (prov. 11:30b)

The following message was delivered at the El Bethel Temple COGIC on Saturday, February 9, 2006.

When I was asked to minister the word at this women’s retreat, the theme for my workshop was, “Stop Thinking About It and Be About It.” I knew that I had been asked because of my many ministerial accomplishments. Although I felt honored to be asked, I didn’t feel inclined to share the programmatic details of the work that I had done over the past 30 years.

Sure, I could speak about how I helped raise money for a million dollar ministry. And I could talk about how I established and directed a family life center, about being a drug counselor, and the two-year study I did as a U.S. Congressional Consultant to our Nation’s Capital, where I had been commissioned to study the root causes of substance abuse. I could even speak about being a book coach and publisher, about two 20 years marriages: one to an emotionally abusive husband and the other to a loving, kind and highly respected man of God. I could give details about being the founder and president of an organization for wives and widows. I could go further back and share what it was like to give birth to a baby at the tender age of 13, and still graduate from high school with honors at the age of 16. Although all of this is true and sounds wonderful, this isn’t what the Lord put on my heart to share with you. This is what He emphasized: “Mary, all of these are good works and they were ordained by Me. However, the greatest work that you can do is the Great Commission. You are to “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you”(Matt. 28:19-20). Sure, friends, it’s good to feed the hungry, clothe the naked, give shelter to the homeless and visit those in prison. But we are living in perilous times. The whole world is trembling right now over the outbreak of terror and calamities happening throughout the earth. We are living in a world gone mad. Every day we wake up to learn of another disaster. Some observers say we’re witnessing the beginnings of World War III. Even the unsaved are fearfully asking, “Is the world coming to an end?” We must seize every opportunity to share the glorious gospel of Jesus Christ to the lost folks around us. For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and lose his soul(Matt. 16:26)? Beloved, the Great Commission is not just an “opportunity.” It is an assignment. When a boss gives an employee an assignment, it is not optional. It is part of the job. In the same way, the Great Commission is part of our job as Christians. It is the most important part. The Father has left His business to us in His Will. We must be about the Father’s business. Are you executing His will? If not, why not? God has given many different gifts and talents to all of us. But we are to use these gifts for ONE common purpose.

THE GREAT COMMISSION.

*****************************************************

I want to offer my free book titled, “The Fish Market” to you. It has to do with the Great Commission. In the book, I give soul- winning tips. I actually got saved while I was trying to lead a soul to Christ! I was an unsaved evangelist AND DIDN’T KNOW IT! Get these copies for your unsaved loved ones, families, friends, and even enemies! Order today by emailing me at: ministermaryedwards@yahoo.com. The book is free, but if you wish to give a love offering to the ministry, checks should be made payable to His Lovely Wife Ministries and mailed to us at P.O. Box 211018, Detroit, Michigan 48221. Thank you in advance.

WHAT DOES GOD REQUIRE OF US IN ORDER TO DO THE GREAT COMMISSION?

1) ACCEPT THE MANDATE

First we must accept ownership of the challenge. To do this, we ourselves must be first partakers of the gift of salvation. In other words, we must be born again.

Let me tell you this incredible story. It’s an excerpt from my life. My testimony of salvation is that I was an UNSAVED evangelist and didn’t know it.

Once we become born again, we are to become the salt of the earth and the light of the world. Let me ask you a question: If we are the light, why is the world so dark? Why is the world so unsavory? Unsavory means unpleasant, immoral. You’ve heard of unsavory characters? Well, there’s plenty of them all around us. Simply put, our light isn’t shining. We must go from a little pin light to a flood light!

2) WE MUST SURRENDER

Leave a Reply

