I Call Him “Da-Da”

Something very special happened to me last month after writing the Father’s Day column in the Keeping Family First online magazine.

After being asked to write about fathers, I picked up paper, pen, and began to ponder. “Lord, what can I say about fathers?” I inquired.

(From day one, mine was missing in action.)

God gave me what to say and afterwards my Heavenly Father gave me a new name: “Baby Girl.” Before writing the June column, He called me “My beloved Mary.” Now He calls me “Baby Girl.” I am so excited about my new name! And I call Him “Da-Da.” No, friends, I’m not regressing to my childhood. I have no desire to go back there.

As I meditate on the loving new name “Da-Da” has given me, this is what comes to my mind. God has many names. And I know, respect, and cherish all of them. Two that I am especially fond of are Jehovah Jireh (Provider) and Jehovah Shalom (Peace). But “Da-Da” seems to encompass them all.

I wanted to be sure that it was okay for me to call my Heavenly Father “Da-Da,” so I inquired of the Lord. He smiled and said, “Baby Girl, I want you to have childlike faith.”

This brings to my mind a little story that someone sent to me. Let me share it with you:

“SAY CHEESE”

It was almost time for school to dismiss and a mother noticed it looked like rain. So she drove toward school to pick up her eight-year-old daughter.

She turned down the street to see her daughter running toward her down the sidewalk. A lightning bolt flashed and the little girl looked up towards the sky, smiled and then began running toward her mother’s van. Another lightning bolt flashed and again the little girl looked towards the sky, smiled and resumed running. This happened several more times until the little girl finally arrived at where her mother was parked.

Her mom immediately inquired as to the strange behavior.

“Why did you keep stopping and smiling at the sky?” she asked.

“I had to, Mommy. God was taking my picture.”

Over the years, I’ve had many bolts of lightning flash in my life. But my childlike faith tells me that everything’s gonna be all right. How do I know? Because I’m Da-Da’s Baby Girl. And my Da-Da can fix anything!

Leave a Reply

