Laying a Sure Foundation

Scripture: I. Cor. 3:10-11

“No?” I shouted to my husband. “No more Drano. We need a plumber.”

These are the words of frustration I used as watched my husband head towards the bathroom with the Drano an in an attempt to unstop the tub for the umpteenth time.

We had a lovely home but it was old and the bathroom fixtures no doubt were the very first ones installed by the original owners. That became more and more apparent as the water slowly drained from the tub after each use. This was a major inconvenience because the residue from the bath or shower couldn’t be cleaned in a timely manner. The next one in line for a bath would have to wait for the tub to drain. Often times, I would have to return later to remove the bathtub ring and other residue. Occasionally, I would forget and suffered embarrassment when a guest would use the bathroom. However, I discovered that this was a small consequence compared to the hidden danger that would soon be uncovered.

Instead of calling the plumber, I decided to call a friend who was in the home modernization business – a builder by trade. That’s when I learned a lesson about the importance of laying a firm foundation.

The day that my friend, Emil, removed the bathtub he called me to take a look. I was astonished to see that the floor underneath the tub was water logged, smelly, and the wooden foundation was splitting. Emil said, “Mary, had you not called me when you did, this floor would surely have caved in. Its rotten to the core.” While the Drano had worked for a season, in the end it had caused great damage to the floor.

After leaving the bathroom, I returned to the kitchen to wash dishes. The bathroom being redone was on the floor directly over my head. As I looked up to praise the Lord for enabling us to avoid such a great disaster, I heard the Voice of God speak these memorable and profound words:

Beloved, be careful how you build. Your floor is someone else’s ceiling. If your floor caves in, everyone underneath will be crushed.

Friends, the fear of God came over me as never before. I will never, ever forget His admonition to me. Thus, I share this true story with you for your consideration and ask you these questions.

What kind of foundation are you laying? What kind of materials are you using?

Are you preaching Jesus Christ and Him only, as the Apostle Paul did when he started the church at Corinth?

Are you building with high-quality materials (right doctrine and right living) that meet God’s standards?

Various materials can be used to build a house. Some are made of wood and some are made of stone. Some are made of a combination of both. Are you using mixed doctrine? A little of this and a little of that? Hopefully, you are using the pure, unadulterated word of God. If not, why not?

Consider this also, my friend. When the fires of life come (the trials and tribulations) which house will be the first to burn: The one made of wood or the one made of stone? When the storms of life come, which house will be swept away first; the one made of wood or the one made of stone? (St Matt. 7:24-27).

Again, what materials are you using? Are you building your life on a shaky foundation such as fame and fortune? Or are you building your life on the only sure foundation, Jesus Christ, The Chief Cornerstone? Are you using His principles, such as compassion spiritual maturity, sensitivity, love, peace, joy, and all the other fruits of the spirit? Incidentally, the cornerstone of a building is the center stone in the top of an arch, holding the whole arch together. By Him all things consists. (Col. 1:27)

The conclusion of the matter is this. Jesus is the glue that holds our lives together. He is The Rock of our salvation. Upon this Rock we must build our lives. A building is only as strong as its foundation. Selah.

Leave a Reply

