OVEREATING

“So the Lord God banished him from the Garden of Eden to work the ground from which he had been taken. After he drove the man out, he placed on the east side of the Garden of Eden cherubim and a flaming sword flashing back and forth to guard the way to the tree of life (Gen 3:23-24).

Friends, Adam and Eve ate themselves out of house and home!

Our meds for this week may not be good to you, but they are good for you. It’s not a popular topic, but the bible says that “You shall know the truth and the truth shall make you free.” What am I talking about? Overeating. Why we do it, and how we can stop. I want to use myself as an example. This is one time, (smile) that I can be a perfect example…

For years, I’ve been overweight. I’m not obese. Perhaps 15-20 pounds overweight. But still overweight. However, because friends were telling me how good I looked, I tried not to worry much about it. I was still able to fit comfortably into an airline seat, and I avoided getting on my bathroom scale. In fact, whenever I went to the doctor’s office and they would say, “Let me take your weight,” I would say, “Help yourself. You can have as much of it as you want.”

But the truth is that after my husband passed I started getting careless about my weight. Like some of you, I started pacifying myself with sweets. Just the other day, I found myself eating not one, but TWO popscicles, back to back! I told myself, “Well, these are low cal.” But later the same day, I drove to the Dairy Queen and bought a cone dipped in butterscotch.

On the way home, as the vanilla dripped down my arm and onto the car’s upholstery, I realized that I was in trouble. I was losing control of my appetite.

Overall, I have a pretty healthy food program. Plenty of veggies and fruits, lots of water, few dairy products, no red meats. But my problem is sweets. While foods are some folks drug of choice, mine is sweets. I also love good bread. Not the kind you buy at the supermarket, but homemade bread.

Put a basket of bread in front of me at a good restaurant and Jesus Himself could sit down next to me and I probably wouldn’t notice Him. Now, that’s bad. Jesus is the Bread of Life!

Food is the drug of choice for many of you reading this. Perhaps you eat to numb the feelings of loneliness, grief, anger, etc., etc. Maybe some of you eat when you’re tired. And others when you are wide awake. Some of you eat when you’re elated and others to calm down. You eat when you’re happy and when you’re sad. You don’t really need a reason.

Your overweightness might be a bio-chemical problem. I have a brother who is obese. He’s overweight and in need of not one but TWO hip replacements. But he can’t have them until he loses some weight. It’s a catch 22. Exercising is very difficult for him because of his weight. So he suffers greatly from his hip problems and has to walk with two canes. A mental image of myself looking like that has greatly contributed to my desire to get control over my craving for sweets. King Stomach has got to submit to the spirit of authority. Now, friends, listen to me. Perhaps you are not hiding candy bars under the sofa cushions, or driving around in the middle of the night looking for a 24-hour drive through restaurant, or stealing cookies from the cookie jar when nobody’s looking, but if you’ve tried diet plan after diet plan, if you’ve tried Weight Watcher, The Atkins Diet, The South Beach Diet, (and The North Beach Diet, if there’s one) and you are still tipping the scales beyond where you should be, it’s time to do something different.

What do I suggest: That you make God Lord over your knife and fork. Stop and think about what you are putting in your mouth before you do it. Pray and ask God for guidance.

Stop focusing so much on meeting your own needs. That’s what overeating is mostly about. Self-centeredness. “Know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost.” Ask the Lord, “Lord, what would YOU like to eat today?” Or what would You like for me to eat today. He just might want you to fast. The Bible says that “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeded out of the mouth of God.

Friends, I don’t feel like a Queen because I wear Queen-sized panty hose. I’m tired of wearing skirts with elastic in the waist so that it will stretch when I stretch, and wearing pull-over tops to cover my bloated belly. I’m tired of undressing in the dark when there’s nobody in the room but me, and avoiding mirrors. I tired of refusing to go on television because it makes me look fatter than I am.

It’s time for me to take control over King Stomach instead of King Stomach having control over me. I refuse to be addicted to anything or anyone but my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. How about you!

“And he said unto them, This kind can come forth by nothing but by prayer and fasting” (Mark :29).

“Jesus answered and said unto them, Verify I say unto you, If ye have faith, and doubt not, ye shall not only do this which is done to the fig tree, but also if ye shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed, and be thou cast into the sea; it shall be done.” Matthew 21:21

Leave a Reply

